My Favorite Things (#s 3, 4, and 5)

Kudos to this crafty baker

Kudos to this campy baker

“Wrapping up” the posts about Christmas gifts I wish I still had today are #s 3, 4, and 5 (since they’re all similar versions of each other): Barbie’s Country Camper, Barbie’s Beach Bus, and Barbie’s Friend Ship. Damn that Barbie. She made travel look so effortless, so fun, so luxurious. It just set me up for disappointment later in life.

#3 Barbie’s Country Camper: I love camping, but I never look (or feel) half as pretty and refreshed as Barbie and PJ in their Country Camper. I blame it on tent sleeping, not to mention lack of bathing facilities in the woods.

barbie-country-camper

PJ and Barbie, makin’ it look so easy.

#4 Barbie’s Beach Bus: Complete with surf gear, beach chairs, and clambake cookware, it was an endless summer with Barbie’s Beach Bus. I think I lost both Barbie RVs when the two were involved in a backyard pileup in the late 70s.

Real Dodge van styling!

Real Dodge van styling!

#5 Barbie’s Friend Ship: I swear I would still take this out to play with (like this person did in a pretty long youtube video) if I still owned it today. It had so many cool accoutrements, and even the drawn-on galley and cockpit details added to the fun.

If I had this arrangement on my Newark to New Delhi flights, maybe I'd like visiting India more.

If I had this kind of arrangement on the Newark to New Delhi flights, maybe I’d like traveling to India more.

I guess airlines discontinued daiquiri service.

I guess airlines discontinued daiquiri service some time in the 70s.

The Friend Ship even came with a beverage cart.

The Friend Ship even came with a beverage cart. (I hope I didn’t make my Barbie flight attendants ram it into sleeping passenger’s shoulders.)

This entry was posted in Getting Started and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Things (#s 3, 4, and 5)

  1. Daphne S Cain says:

    You’ve made me think of my favorite Christmas gifts – thanks for those reminisces! I love that you loved all things Barbie. I don’t think I ever had a Barbie – I was a stuffed animal girl!

    New Year coming. Talk soon, D

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Paige says:

      My grandma tells a story about staying with me once. She said that when she was putting me to bed, I had lined up so many stuffed animals that she didn’t know where I was going to sleep. I really don’t remember having many stuffed animals though (an autograph Snoopy and a Poppin’ Fresh Doughboy are the two I remember).

Leave a Reply

