1959 Spartan Carousel

1959 Spartan CarouselIt’s a nice Sunday morning, and those pine cones aren’t going to pick themselves up. But I’ve been checking out the camper want ads a little today before I start my chores. One I keep going back to is this fabulous 1959 Spartan Carousel. At 50 feet, my Volvo won’t be pulling this Big Bertha anywhere. But it’s just too beautiful not to share.

So this aluminum beauty has 49 windows and a skylight, but the coolest feature is the circular kitchen with snack bar–complete with the original doo-wop light fixture and pink appliances.

Spartan kitchenSpartan KitchenSpartan skylight detailIt’s just gorgeous. And probably built better than most new construction today. Asking price is $15,000 and the listing and more photos can be found here (the bathroom fixtures are pink too!). I wish I could get my hands (and a couple of bottles of Clorox) on this gem.

If you’d bought one of these in 1959, it would have included custom-designed furniture to complement the circular features offered in the Carousel.

Carousel adCarousel layoutCheck out Raleigh’s own Glass Moon covering The Hollies’ On a Carousel–in vintage Pullen Park, no less.

This entry was posted in Getting Started and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 1959 Spartan Carousel

  1. scott says:

    Richland, washington – quite a haul

  2. Yes, plus, you can’t drive around with a monster like that. But, what a nice beach home it would make.

  3. DLo says:

    dump the volvo! get the carousel!

  4. Chris says:

    Who wouldn’t love those curves?

  5. Daphne says:

    What a beauty!!!! I’m with Ramble on Rose – this would make one nice beach pad!

  6. Pingback: Three Cheers for the Spartan! | ReCamp

  7. I would love to put one of these on my little lake lot. Just incredible!

  8. I know Stephany! I could see it as a beach or mountain retreat too. I would love to see what the new owner does with it. It would be great to see her restored to her former glory.

  9. I wanted to report that I think I’ve found the Spartan’s new home @ http://wellbodymindheartspirit.com/2011/06/28/spartan-carousel-has-arrived/
    It looks like the owners will be blogging the renovation as well.

  10. Thanks Stephany!!! Can’t wait to see what they do with her!

  11. Pingback: Update on the Spartan Carousel | ReCamp

  12. Jon Berge says:

    Does any one know where another one of these trailers are? looking to have one myself, please let me know.
    jon
    partnersms@aol.com

  13. Paige says:

    It’s a Spartan but not a Carousel, but there’s one for sale here: http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/csw/rvs/2529039424.html

  14. Helena says:

    Is it still for sale? Please let me know, I’d love to have it.

  15. jim says:

    what you asking for the spartan

Leave a Reply

